A Deeper Dive : A Ronald Jones II Report

After every Bucs draft, I like to take a deeper look at our newest players to get a better idea of who we got. I'm a complete amateur at this, and this is my first time attempting a write up on a prospect, but I wanted to share what I saw with my fellow Bucs fans. Sorry for the low quality images, didn't have time to go through and make gifs/highlight the plays I wanted to. 

I've been a casual fan of Ronald Jones II game at the college level just because of the crazy production he put out vs. NFL talent. Taking a closer look at RoJo through some tape and it's easy to see why he was drafted so high as he truly is a special talent. The Jamaal Charles/LeSean McCoy comparisons are not as lofty as expectations as you would think.

The concerns I read on scouting reports said they worry about his vision as he seems to just run full speed after taking the handoff so I wanted to focus on that throughout the process. I also wanted to start off with a couple of his ‘worst’ games last year from a statistical standpoint. I like doing this with prospects for a couple of reasons - to see if it’s actually a bad performance from them or the sum of other factors around them and to see what else they add to a game besides what you see in the boxscore.

vs Texas 2017 (18 attempts, 47 yards, 2.6 ypc | 1 reception, 56 yards, 1 TD)

• 2nd play of the game we see RoJo blocking Holton Hill downfield on a WR screen, locks him up and holds the block throughout the play.
  • Next play he's sent out to block again, gets a pop on the LB (Wheeler) on the WR screen and keeps him out of the play
  • Next play on 1st & 10, run to the left as the line does a good job of blocking and RoJo uses his burst to get through the crowd untouched. I feel like the average back would be taken down in the crowd here for a gain of a few yards.. instead RoJo emerges here and is able to pick up the 1st down.