Kind Of A Damning Review Of Emanuel Hall

soulman

Stephen Letizia / May 1, 2019

https://www.chicagoaudible.com/emanuel-hall-undrafted-impact-bears/

Why Emanuel Hall Went Undrafted and How He Can Impact the Bears

When the Bears signed Emanuel Hall as an undrafted free agent, I was thrilled, to say the least. I came away from my initial viewing of Hall pre-draft thinking very highly of him and expecting him to be drafted in the third or fourth round.

I even went as far to say on The Chicago Audible Podcast that I preferred him to Bears fourth-round pick Riley Ridley.

When I watched more of his tape after the draft, I came away slightly disappointed. He clearly has the athleticism for the position and is a threat to score a touchdown as soon as he steps on the field, but the subtle nuances of the position are where he needs to improve.

So let’s look into the reasons he went undrafted.

Route Running

Hall really only ran three routes in college: go, slant and curl. He would occasionally run other routes but they were few and far between.

His game is predicated on his 4.39 40-yard speed. His slant and curl route successes are a result of defenders having to provide a huge cushion in off-man coverage out of respect for that speed.

While his linear speed is great and will be an asset in the NFL, Hall needs to develop more refined routes in order to become the receiver some think he can be.

Below is a great example. He gets out of his comfort zone and runs a post route. His break at the stem is extremely rounded instead of a sharp, quick 45-degree angle to the goal posts. But what is more concerning is what Hall does when the ball is in the air. He starts to drift upfield instead of running through the ball, allowing the cornerback to make a play.

giphy.gif

It is the little things that I missed in my first viewing that separate the good receivers from the great ones.

Hands