The Trade Deadline is Almost Upon Us

Robb_K

Will The Vikings be able to grab Trent Williams away from The Redskins at an unbelievable bargain price just because they've made absolutely no progress negotiating with him, and realise he'll never play for them again, and just want to get SOMETHING for him? 

Is there any other team that wants him more than The Vikings do? 

Could The Vikings fit him under The Salary Cap for the last 7 or 8 games?

The Vikings basically have zero cap space.

The biggest weakness of the team right now is pass blocking on the interior, but there’s no way they try to replace anyone by trade. OL cohesion is important, and their 5 starters have really gelled over the last month, working well together in the run and screen game.

Reiff in particular has been excellent recently. Adding Trent Williams who hasn’t played or practiced this year and has a rocky injury history might not even be an upgrade at this point.

The cornerbacks haven’t been great but their struggles have been a little overblown. Can’t see them trading Rhodes or anyone else away.

The bigger weakness on defense is the interior pass rush but I doubt they‘ll look to add anyone to what’s already a crowded DL depth chart. More likely they just give more chances to depth players. Odenigbo has been used regularly as a nickel DT the last couple of games. Might see them try Holmes or even Watts next to him, as Weatherly has been underwhelming inside, and Mata’afa sadly hasn’t been able to produce at all.

• Like 3

Yeah, no cap space to do anything. I would've loved to got Williams from NYJ I believe he is better in a 4-3 than 3-4. Atkins is a perfect target if had space. Interior pressure is something this team severely missing. QB's are avoiding Hunter/Griffen by stepping into the pocket to pass or run. Also would allow the CBs to be more aggressive 

Edited by dc_vikingfan