Gurley's best days behind him?

bertuzzi

Is his knee bothering him more than we think? Is the play calling the reason why he can't get going or is the Oline? 

Doesn't seem like the same player and the offense seems have taken a hit because of it. 

what are you guys thinking? 🤔 

His knee is obviously a big problem, it has an "arthritic component", we've been consciously limiting his workload because of it, knees are extremely important for a RB, and he clearly lacks the burst/speed/explosiveness he used to have. 

I don't think the playcalling is an issue, but the O-line play definitely makes things harder, too. 

I'm not a doctor, but it does seem like a chronic thing (because if it wasn't, you'd think he would have healed over the offseason?). In which case, yes unfortunately maybe Gurley's best days are behind him :(

2 hours ago, NVRamsFan said:

We may never know the extent of his knee issues. Right now this looks like the Gurley of his 2nd season. Most all of our issues as a team are with the struggles of the OLine especially at RG. Not worried about TG3

A rookie RB Darrell Henderson has run the ball better than him though. Behind the same O-line.

Shocked this has a question mark at the end of it. Yes, he's not going to be the guy we saw him earlier on in his career, but still has value as a short yardage and pass catcher. 

13 hours ago, NVRamsFan said:

They’re almost identical statistically. 

Which specific stats? Henderson Y/A is slightly higher at 4.1. The "burst" from Gurley is gone though. Ability to turn a run for loss into a small gain is gone. "Game breaking" runs I don't see happening, where I see all those things with Henderson. He has burst, elusiveness, shifty, etc Still need to work on pass protection. I think we see more Henderson in 2nd half of season until we get within the 30 then hand it over to Gurley. 

23 minutes ago, BStanRamFan said: