My 2020 Bears Goals

WindyCity

My 2020 Bears Goals

Go Back to 101

I am starting to come around to the idea that Nagy pushed everyone to 202 when no on on offense was ready for it. Go back and master 101 and do not move to 202 until you have the personnel [OL and TE] and the command of 101 [QB, WR] to actually do it. As a teacher I have had this feeling many times, I want to teach something, but the class is not ready for it and we crash and burn.

-The coaches clearly were not ready for it as their are constant substitution and play clock issues.
-The OL was not ready for it as they have struggled with protections and the demands of the run game.
-The TEs are an abysmal and pathetic group talent and toughness wise so not much to say here.
-The WRs cannot get lined up, have run a ton of wrong routes, run into each other on a bunch, and dropped a ton of passes
-The QB has been a mental mess because of it

Good, Average, and Solid are not longer adjectives we use for the OL.

The OL has been a massive disappointment and it is not shocking that the offense has suffered with it. The pass blocking has improved, but the run blocking has stayed bad. The line lacks athletic ability to run the zone [Massie, Coward] and lacks toughness to really dig people out in other areas [Leno, Daniels]. Mitch is not an elite QB, he is not going to be an elite QB, the line needs to be the centerpiece of the offense. Look at what Jimmy G, Dak, Lamar, are doing behind dominant lines. This is the great equalizer.

Re-Do the TE room

It is a pathetic position group. The Shaheen defenders we needed to deal with before the season have all but disappeared at this point and Burton is a bust of a free agent signing. The TE is a huge part of the run game and the pass blocking and if the QB has limitations then you cannot have a black hole of talent on the offense that is a liability to him.

Treat Trubisky like who he is.