Mitch Trubisky Bad Throws

WindyCity

Mitch Trubisky is currently tied with Carson Wentz for 17th in the league in bad throw percentage, which I have to admit was a surprise to me.

https://www.pro-football-reference.com/years/2019/passing_advanced.htm

He is also 17th in On Target %

https://www.pro-football-reference.com/years/2019/passing_advanced.htm

The NFL average for bad throws is 16.75% and Mitch is at 18%.

The more interesting piece is that the games where has the most bad throws are also the ones where the Bears cannot run the ball and throw a lot of passes.

Most of the games where he has been above average in "bad throws" have been games where he has thrown over 40 passes.

GB1- 45 passes, 17.7%
NO-54 passes, 22%
Phi- 21 passes, 23%
LAR-43 passes, 18.6%
NYG-41 passes, 24.3%
GB 2-53 passes, 26.4%

It is clear that Mitch is not the type of QB that you can throw 40+ passes with in a game, in fact many QBs are not.

My major issues is that you were not down more than a score at halftime in any of these games.

• Like 1

This correlates pretty strongly with a garbage run game

GB1- 45 passes, 17.7% 12 carries, 2.9 YPC, 2.5 Yards before contact
NO-54 passes, 22% 7 carries, 2.4 YPC, 1.31 YBC
Phi- 21 passes, 23% 16 carries, 2.9 YPC, 2.35 YBC
LAR-43 passes, 18.6% 23 carries, 3 YPC, 2.2 YBC
NYG-41 passes, 24.3% 19 carries, 2.4 YPC, 1.5 YBC
GB 2-53 passes, 26.4% 23 carries, 2.9 YPC, 1.3 YBC

For Mitch to be efficient he needs a running game that does not suck and that actually receives carries.

• Like 3

Just now, WindyCity said:

The more interesting piece is that the games where has the most bad throws are also the ones where the Bears cannot run the ball and throw a lot of passes.

Most of the games where he has been above average in "bad throws" have been games where he has thrown over 40 passes.

GB1- 45 passes, 17.7%
NO-54 passes, 22%
Phi- 21 passes, 23%
LAR-43 passes, 18.6%
NYG-41 passes, 24.3%
GB 2-53 passes, 26.4%