Big Passing Plays Given Up By the Defense (Falcons Game)

CWood21

For the record, I'm defining anything as a big play as 15+ yards.  And I'm not very tech savvy, but if anyone can provide GIFS I'd love you forever.  Maybe @AlexGreen#20 has the capabilities.

1st Quarter

14:23 - The Falcons are in the 21 formation with Julio Jones lined up on the left side of the formation.  Julio Jones runs a quick out route, which Damarious Randall sort of jumps the route thinking it's going to be a slant route and recovers reasonably well.  Unfortunately, he misses a tackle on Jones that would have limited it to ~5 yard gain and turns into a 15 yard gain for Julio Jones.  Good coverage, poor tackling by Damarious Randall.

13:18 - The Falcons are in the 12 formation with Julio Jones again lined up on the left side of the formation.  I'm not sure if the play design had a free release for Julio Jones, but matching a WR with 4.39 speed against a CB whose slower than him.  Honestly, without knowing whether or not the scheme had any sort of jam, this seems like a poor play call.  Or if you want to blame Randall, there was no attempt to disrupt Jones' route.

2nd Quarter

14:55 - Falcons are going 4 wide receivers, two to each side before flexing Freeman out of the backfield pre-snap.  Morgan Burnett is playing spy on Freeman, and as soon as he releases from the backfield Burnett goes with him.  HHCD takes an absolutely horrible route to the receiver, and ends up overplaying the ball and Mohammed Sanu makes a 24 yard gain instead of a ~7 yard gain.  Rollins gets absolutely turned around by the Sanu route.  And that was compacted by a bad tackle by Rollins after the catch as well.