Daniel's Draft Thread

Daniel

I like having one thread for positional rankings and mock drafts.  Thanks to this pandemic, I've had a chance to watch a lot more tape on some prospects to get rankings together.  I'll update them as I finish, and as things change.

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert, I don't do this for a job, and I don't have time to watch every game from every prospect.  Yall don't either.  I expect my rankings to deviate from the norm, but that's part of it.  If, however, you think I've evaluated a prospect incorrectly, I would like to hear about it.  Guys can have single games that make them look very different.

Also, I don't do set numbers.  I rank until the dropoff is big enough for me to stop caring.  But I try to get 10 in for most positions.  Honorable mentions are not necessarily my next ranked prospects, more prospects that I want to talk about for one reason or another.

QB: The QB class is top heavy, both Burrow and Tua are great prospects, but after that, there's a big, big drop.  There's a plateau of several second round prospects, many of which are projects, then another, bigger gap before you get to the late rounders.  It's rare to see a QB class this staggered, but overall, the quality isn't bad.  Not very deep, but a lot of potential.

1. Joe Burrow, LSU: Not much to say here.  No brainer.

2. Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama: I'm concerned about his durability, but his talent is way above the rest of the class.

3. Jake Fromm, Georgia: I'm a Fromm fan.  Does he have physical limitations?  Yeah, but he has a high floor, and in this class, that puts him ahead of the rest, but there's a big gap between him and Tua.

4. Justin Herbert, Oregon: I do not like Herbert, but he has all the physical tools and has had moments of brilliance over the last couple seasons.  He's consistent, and less likely to bust than those below him.  He's only a hair below Fromm.