Some Insights From Nick Foles Book

soulman

‘I’m able to light up a scoreboard. I’m a game manager. I’m a building block. I’m a stopgap. I’m a franchise quarterback. I’m an insurance policy. I’m a Pro Bowl MVP. I’m a career second-stringer. I’m dependable. I’m a fluke. I’m a Super Bowl MVP. I’m trade bait.’ — From Nick Foles’ book, ‘Believe It: My Journey of Success, Failure and Overcoming the Odds’

IMG_chi-ct-nick-foles-wr_2_1_K36MEHGO.jp

What Nick Foles’ book tells us about the Bears QB and his roller coaster eight-year NFL career.  Nick Foles won a Pro Bowl MVP during a three-year run with the Eagles to start his career and a Super Bowl MVP in his second stint in Philadelphia, below, but he only spent one season in each of his stops with the Rams, Chiefs and Jaguars. (Mark Humphrey/AP )

By Colleen Kane  https://digitaledition.chicagotribune.com/html5/desktop/production/default.aspx?edid=ff19a98d-6277-4edd-9cfc-a5e663e971b4

Nick Foles’ text to Andy Reid in July 2016 was supposed to end his football career.

After a dismal season with the Rams, Foles had lost his love of the game and asked for his release from the organization, which had just drafted Jared Goff with the No. 1 pick. Other teams inquired about signing the former Pro Bowl quarterback, including Reid, who was looking for a backup to Alex Smith with the Chiefs.

But Foles, who spent his rookie season with the Eagles under Reid, had made up his mind.

In a McDonald’s parking lot, on the way to a camping trip in the Sierra Nevada, Foles texted Reid to tell him he was hanging up his cleats. Foles then texted his wife, Tori, to tell her the final decision on a topic they had long been discussing. And he powered down his phone for the weekend trip.

That, of course, wasn’t that.