GDT: BENGALS AT BRONCO'S

AKRNA

THE ESSENTIALS

CINCINATTI BENGALS   3-6 (1-4 AWAY)

AT

DENVER BRONCO’S    3-6 (3-2 HOME)

LINE: DEN -2.5    O/U39

WHY WATCH?

Right now we’re all but eliminated from PS possibilities, so are the Bengals. They’re the 1st team of a string of 5 games, call it the draft derby, against poor teams. Winning won’t get us into the playoffs, just change our draft position.

In a way I’m an expert at watching poor Bronco’s teams. Being a fan since 1963 does that to you. So, my advice?  Start watching individual matchups and players. I used to look forward to Broncos/Raiders just to watch Art Shell and Rich Jackson bang on each other for 4 quarters.

Spend a few series watching Bolles from the snap. Maybe Marshall on defense? Then swap to different players. Focus on the action away from the ball. Watch DT, is his effort 100% every play? Are our TE’s really that bad? Does Von take plays off? How about Talib. How solid is Gotsis really?

By focusing on the individual for 10+-plays in a row you’ll learn far more about our roster than you can listening to broadcasters or reading the pundits.

Anyway, not much of a GDT I know. I’ll leave it to you guys to flesh it out.

I am not sure if I want to watch two men bang each other like Rick Jason and Art Shell used to do.  But, I will want to see Brock progress a bit to see if he is worthy of signing to another 1-year contract to compete with whoever the next #1 draft pick challenger is. 

Since we want the highest draft spot possible for 2018, let's turn this around and focus on how CIN can work to beat us:

1.  Keep going after our ILB in RB/TE pass coverage - Tyler Kroft and Joe Mixon should get a ton of work.   We can't cover either.

2.  Keep double/triple-teaming Von - until Ray/Barrett, and more importantly, our interior DL, can get pressure, keep him away from Dalton.