Budgeting

pwny

Even though I’m an accountant, my Achilles heel in my personal life is proper budgeting and making sure my money goes to good use, rather than a black hole of “stuff”. It’s so easy to blow $400-500 eating out without realizing it, or to let a bunch of small expenses just keep piling up. That $4 coffee every day (I don’t drink coffee) is $120 a month. Plus, I’m a consumer. If there’s something I want, I rarely wait for it. I buy it then and there, even if it puts a strain on my earnings.

Over the last month and a half, I’ve started to get a better handle on things. I’m currently trying out YNAB for doing all my budgeting, and things seem to be going a bit better. I still have habits to break, but they’re getting there.

So let’s discuss budgeting. How do you budget? Tips? Things that trip you up?

50 minutes ago, iPwn said:

It’s so easy to blow $400-500 eating out without realizing it...

You and me both, brother... that's my main issue, going out to eat. 

I'll be following this intently. I definitely can use some 3rd party insight.

1 hour ago, iPwn said:

I’m currently trying out YNAB for doing all my budgeting, and things seem to be going a bit better.

I never heard of this until now - students get it free for a year, so guess my wife is going to sign up! :D

45 minutes ago, EliteTexan80 said:
1 hour ago, iPwn said:

I’m currently trying out YNAB for doing all my budgeting, and things seem to be going a bit better.

I never heard of this until now - students get it free for a year, so guess my wife is going to sign up! :D

A year on top of your first month free, IIRC. I ended up talking to a lady on their support about some stuff and she gave me an extra month free. I’m taking a couple classes this semester, so I think i’ll be getting a year on top of these two months once I put that in.

I’m getting the hang of it. Still working to flesh out my budgeting categories and the *right* amounts to put in certain areas.