Mitchell/Wilcox likely gone, Davis maybe to FS

CKSteeler

I've been saying for two years now that they have Davis out of position. Mitchell to FS was always dumb. The Steelers forced Davis into a role that really didn't suit his abilities out of desperation. He's big and kind of fast, and Mitchell really can't run or play the run so let's just throw this guy into the box and ask him to man up on people and support the run. While we're at it, we'll throw Golden back there as a deep safety. Because teams really fear that.

This draft has some guys who seem pretty well suited to be SS's. Ronnie Harrison in round 1 - how many guys are you going to pick their with more talent?

I don't know that Davis is any better as a FS. I could see him being worse. In space is not his strength and his tackling is already laughably bad in the open field at times. More of that might not be a good thing. 

Having said that, it may improve our passing defense in the third portion of the field. Seems to have a little more range and playmaking ability, so what we may be giving up with his weakness in space maybe we gain enough to make the change worth it.

Ultimately, I think Davis is best suited for a third safety role as a guy who could play a hybrid corner/safety in certain packages and be a solid backup at both safety spots. But I think he gets one more shot as a starter due to our desperation at the position and him being a guy coming into his third year with starter experience. 

I am for the change (basically because I'm for any changes right now at safety), but not sure how much it changes. Davis's issues are with consistency, not playing in a position that's not suited for him.