Son was asked to move up an age group - advice needed

Sugashane

So today was the first "tryout" for my son's age group for baseball (ages 7-8). Basically we have 3 days where kids go through different drills and then the coaches will "draft" them (besides their own children, who automatically are on their teams).

My son is already an exceptional athlete (didn't get it from me) and big/built for his age (did get that from me), but after the drills today me and one other parent were asked to stay by one of the league guys, and he asked us if we would let our boys move up a class since they were pretty far ahead of the rest. I like the idea of him getting to compete with older kids, but really this is his first year of real baseball since he was too young and had to play teeball last year (missed age cutoff by about 2 weeks). The other parent was all in but they seemed a little hyper competitive for their kid, so I wanted to see what you guys would do.

Now I'm a coach, and I don't know if it would be better to let him struggle some in a sport for the first time in his life, or just have him give me a list of names of friends that I haven't already coached in basketball/football with him and draft his buddies. He is kind of a weird one, he is really competitive and does a lot of drills on his own and even wants to "lift" with me (nightly push ups, sit ups, and assisted pull ups followed by stretching) so I think he will have fun either way.

I'd just like some outside perspective from the forum - I don't need to answer until Thursday afternoon for his next practice. Thanks guys.

If he moves up and you think he will be the worse kid by a significant margin he shouldnt move up. But if hes going from the best kid to a middle of the pack kid i would move him up. And keep him up as long as hes not the worst player.