Lions uni redesign for 2023

Superduperman

Nothing has been officially announced but rumor has it that the Lions will have new unis in 23.

I've given this a bit of thought, and I want to lay out what I'd like to see. I'm a designer (not uniforms, just generally) by trade and I have imagined myself making a powerpoint presentation to the Lions on a new uniform design. Obviously I'll never do that, so I'll write it here instead.

I think the most successful redesign in recent years is the Bucs returning to a more traditional look from their video-game-number design and I'd use that as an example of the right way to do it.

I like many aspects of the Lions current look and really dislike some other aspects. Here's what I'd do:

Colors: I'd alter both the Lions blue and silver colors a little. The aim would be to differentiate the Lions colors from a couple of other teams, and also enhance the contrast between the colors.

• The Lions have had varying versions of "Honolulu Blue" over the years, so I don't feel it's unrealistic to change it a little. The current blue color, I feel, is too close to both the Carolina blue of the Panthers and the powder blue of the Chargers. I would make the color deeper and darker and a little less saturated, so pretty close to the color of the Barry-era unis except maybe even a little darker, but not anywhere close to the Bills royal blue.
  • The current silver color of the helmets is excellent and I'd keep that. The fabric "silver" color is horrible, it's a boring gray that doesn't match the helmet. I'd brighten the color up to bring it as close to the helmet as possible, and make both the silver fabric and silver number/letter decals more metallic.

Stripes and trim: I really like the Lions current striping. Simple blue on silver or silver on blue, the wide middle stripe and narrower stripes on either side, it's elegant and looks great imo. I'd keep that and resist the temptation to add white, I don't think it's necessary.