Defensive Coaching Addition--Deshea Townsend

The Lions are bringing in another new coach for the defense.  Deshea Townsend has been added as Defensive Pass Game Coordinator and Cornerbacks Coach.  Given the performance of our secondary, changes definitely needed to be made.  I am not sure what this means for Dre Bly.  One common theme between the hiring of Deshea Townsend and Terrell Williams:  Both have NFL coaching experience.

https://www.prideofdetroit.com/2024/2/8/24066172/detroit-lions-hiring-deshea-townsend-new-pass-game-coordinator

One interesting note from the article:  The Lions didn't have a passing game coordinator on defense.  I am not an expert on NFL coaching staffs.  Do most teams have Defensive Passing Game Coordinator position?  I did a quick check on the 49rs and Chiefs but they don't have that listed.

Edited by Just Want A Title

Looks like a position quite a few other teams have.  Most teams have CB and S coaches as well so I am guessing this splits the duties between Bly and Townsend but Bly is still the overall DB's coach.  Fortunately it seems that SFH is again allowing the team to add positions in areas that they are needed to allow guys to succeed at their jobs. 

• Like 1

Townsend is defensive passing game coordinator/CBs coach. Maybe we'll have more than 1 CB coach, but this certainly feels like Bly's job is getting pushed out. Or maybe Florio has the CB coach bit wrong.

https://www.nbcsports.com/nfl/profootballtalk/rumor-mill/news/lions-hire-deshea-townsend-as-defensive-passing-game-coordinator-cbs-coach

Edited by nagahide13

21 minutes ago, nagahide13 said:

Townsend is defensive passing game coordinator/CBs coach. Maybe we'll have more than 1 CB coach, but this certainly feels like Bly's job is getting pushed out. Or maybe Florio has the CB coach bit wrong.

https://www.nbcsports.com/nfl/profootballtalk/rumor-mill/news/lions-hire-deshea-townsend-as-defensive-passing-game-coordinator-cbs-coach