Week 1 @ Philadelphia: The Good, Bad and Ugly

naptownskinsfan

I used to be a sports writer at a local paper coming out of high school and part of my way through college, and I enjoy writing on the topics that interest me- and that's one of the reasons I ultimately decided not to pursue that job, amongst others.  However, I've recently picked up the bug again, and will be presenting a column hopefully after every game titled "The Good, Bad and Ugly."  So let's begin. 

The Good 

No turnovers.  The Redskins have been bitten by the turnover bug for years.  With another QB under center, and against one of the NFL's better pass-rushing defensive lines, one might think that the team would turn the ball over plenty.  That didn't happen.  Case Keenum did not throw an interception, and only took one sack.  While the rushing attack was nearly non-existent, we did not put the ball on the ground via fumble.  To roll up over 400 yards of offense without a turnover is a great takeaway from this game. 

Terry McLaurin has speed.  McLaurin, also referred to as Scary Terry, took his game to the next level today with five catches for 120 yards and a touchdown.  That touchdown was scored on a deep throw off play-action for 69 yards, and if not for an overthrow, McLaurin may have caught another deep throw.  

Trey Quinn shined.  Quinn hauled in four catches for 33 yards and a touchdown, and also impressed me with some of his cuts on punt returns- specifically the one called back.  The slot receiver needs to have that kind of agility to make people miss, and Quinn showed today that he can be a player in that position. 

The Bad