Quick Cabo Melee Mock 2-1 Thoughts

dll2000

Critical needs, gotta have it:

C, WR, UTE, S

Need: Edge, 3T

Wants: P, G/C versatility, OT, CB, Punt returner

Gone: Whitehair, Tonyan, Patrick, Jackson, Blasingame, Homer, Foreman, St. Brown (well just a whole bunch of guys) easier to say who is staying.

FA:

Hard to say with FAs right now because most of decent ones resign with their team or get tagged.  But for funsies let me look at some names on PFF FA list and think - you guys can be here for my thoughts:

Keeping guys that are starred.  

Chris Jones - this is time I remind everyone I was Bears GM for a game on this site in 2016 and I absolutely killed that draft.  I studied players for many hours that year.  Haven't really done that before or since to that extent.   I got Chris Jones in 2nd round.  I would have taken him in first, but nobody had him that high.  I still can't believe that.  

But I don't see Bears signing Chris Jones.  Poles wants to sign young guys with years to go in prime.  Chris Jones is a lets go win the SB this year type FA signing.

... bunch of guys I am sure will be tagged - skip them.

Mike Evans - pass.  Too old for this team and he doesn't fit.

C. Ridley - Interesting.  I bring him in for an interview to try to see where his head is.  I am pretty sure he is staying in Jacksonville, but not 100% sure.  Even if he is available I am not sure I want him as he seems to be kind of a head case.  But for right price I sign him.  

*D. Mooney -Look I am going to say this 90% won't happen.  But if it was me I would bring him back.  New coaches, new QB.  Like coming to a new team.  I am running this mock not Poles and I get final say and I say he comes back.  I take a chance he had a down year and was frustrated and he can bounce back to where he was.  He is a really, really good 3 and a decent 2 if he can get back to his best playing and due to his down year price has have gone down a ton.  Worth it to me.