CW21's 2023 NFL Draft Grades (Top 14 Up!)

CWood21

I'll do my best to get all the grades up throughout the process.  Can't promise that I won't get derailed at some point though.  Grades will be affected by trade ups or downs.

1.) Carolina Panthers (from Chicago) - Bryce Young [QB; Alabama]
Leading up to the weeks before the draft, the Panthers gave up a haul to find their QBOTF and while most thought there were multiple QBs in play but ultimately they opted for Bryce Young.  If Bryce Young had more prototypical NFL frame for a QB, I think we'd be looking at a consensus for the top QB but the on-the-field performances were the most impressive of all the QBs in this year's draft with his ability to elevate the players around him.  Outside of Jahmyr Gibbs, the Crimson Tide' skill position players are probably the weakest they've been in years and Alabama was in the mix for the playoffs.  He's probably the most complete QB prospect in this year's draft, but his slight frame and his less than ideal arm strength (although more than enough to play in the NFL) are docking his draft status.
Grade: B

2.) Houston Texans - CJ Stroud [QB; Ohio State]
After all the misdirection, the Texans opted to take their QB and they took the other QB who was my current QB1.  I think he's got a higher ceiling than Bryce Young, but his floor is substantially lower than Bryce Young's and they'll always be linked together.  CJ Stroud has the prototypical QB frame that Bryce Young doesn't have, but he doesn't quite have the feel that Young does.  Unfortunately, Stroud has to battle the stigma of Buckeye QBs which hasn't really produced much in the way of productivity.  I felt that Houston might bypass a QB this year, and opt for a QB next year.  Ultimately, it's hard to fault a team for going after their QB and Houston did exactly that this year.  Time will tell dictate if the decision was correct.

3.) Houston Texans (from Arizona) - Will Anderson [EDGE; Alabama]