Perception of our franchise around the NFL

naptownskinsfan

Just read an article on the Athletic from Ben Standig, and even with two years of Rivera here, the perception has not quite changed here.  Additionally, Rivera being a defensive-minded coach, and the inexperience and questions surrounding Scott Turner as OC, is also playing a factor in perception.  It also seems that Standig is hinting that the Stafford trade was made in part due to Stafford preferring to work with McVay over Rivera/Turner.  

Here is the link, and I will post 1-2 snippets since it’s behind a paywall- https://theathletic.com/2903708/2021/10/21/washingtons-uncertainty-at-qb-wont-be-solved-easily-it-is-a-legit-nightmare/?source=user_shared_article

The free-agent market is thin, and teams generally do not make viable starters available by trade. Any veteran with sway will logically factor Washington’s reputation into any decision, and the organization was recently the subject of an independent investigation into widespread sexual harassment and abuse.

“(Snyder is) not well-liked by people in the NFL,” another agent said. “He is not well-regarded. So, until people believe that Snyder is out of the mix, Washington is not a preferred destination in the NFL.”

Another agent with quarterbacks clients — though not Rodgers — said of Washington, “If I have a choice, I want to go somewhere else.”

Such talk serves as a reminder that any sales pitch from Rivera faces varying challenges, but is needed.

• Like 4

What qb wouldn't want to work with McVay over Scott Turner?  That is obvious.  I don't think players care so much about owners as coaches.  Washington isn't the only junk show out there. 
And right now, in terms of attracting free agents, I would think  Rivera is more of a problem than Snyder.  Would you want to play for a defensive minded coach that can't squeeze squat out of this defense?

• Like 1

10 hours ago, offbyone said: