How can the NFL improve/modernize officiating?

49ersfan

There's been a big problem with the officiating this year. There's 2 likely reasons for that - either every qualified official to make it to the highest level of football sucks, or the game is hard to officiate as is and needs to be modernized. I believe it should be modernized, but how? I'm not an expert and maybe some of these ideas are far-fetched/bad, but just spitballing...

-Putting computer chips into the football to measure spots, to assist/replace the chain gang? 

-Sky judge? AAF used one i believe and it would help to have a set of eyes that views the whole field

-Making every penalty reviewable instead of PI? 

-Replacing Al Riveron as head of officiating?

How would you guys improve/modernize NFL officiating?

Officiating has always been horrible in the NFL. There was never a time and place where refs were consistently making great calls - go back and rewatch some 80's/90's games. There's some horrible officiating in those games.

What you're asking for is effectively never going to happen.

I honestly think it's at peak, unless we go down the AI route one day. Human error occurs all the time, it can't be prevented. It's a busy picture for officials, and I bet they get close to 90% of calls right. 

Not saying it's ideal or that it isn't outrageous at times, just that...doubt it can get better with humans in charge.

I thought Booger (hear me out) had a good idea, with 2 officials watching the tv angles live and if they see anything questionable, reviewing it. It wouldn't add any meaningful delay to the games, and would eliminate most egregious calls, really quickly.

• Like 2

Full time refs. Take some of these players with speed that flame out and give them a chance to learn the game in and out and actually have the speed to keep up with it. We pay so much money to go to these games, the least they could do is not have part time 60 year olds making the calls.

• Like 1